AF senior leaders recognize star performers

  • Published
  • By Maj Kinder L Blacke
  • 140th Wing Public Affairs

This month, the 140th Wing, Colorado Air National Guard was honored to host two of the most senior leaders of the U.S. Air Force, who recognized some outstanding Airmen in the organization.


Gen. David Goldfein, Chief of Staff of the U.S. Air Force, and Maj Gen Marc Sasseville, Deputy Director of the Air National Guard, both made special visits to the base to see first-hand the wing’s missions and hear about current issues.


During Gen. Goldfein’s visit, the 140th Wing showcased a lot of the operational equipment used to carry out its mission. The static displays included an F-16C+ aircraft, a Mission Vehicle and a Communications Vehicle from the 233d Space Group’s Mobile Ground System, a CERFP Truck with associated equipment, the Bomb Squad Emergency Response Vehicle and Total Containment Vessel, and a C-21 aircraft.


Outstanding Airmen from the wing discussed each primary mission with Goldfein and he coined several members.


From the 140th Maintenance Group:

A1C Chris Von Haasl

SrA Jamie Underwood

SSgt Sean Huffaker

SSgt Derek Zabienski

TSgt Alex Stewart

MSgt Daren Igel


From the 233d Space Group:

A1C Mackenzie Blankinship

SrA Daniel McCeery

SrA Louis White

TSgt William Spaid


From the 140th Medical Group:

TSgt Adriana Jakupi


From the 140th Mission Support Group:

SMSgt Richard Gibbons

The 140th EOD Flight was also recognized for their heroic life-saving efforts detailed in this story.



During Maj. Gen. Sasseville’s visit, he toured both Greeley Air National Guard Station and Buckley AFB, recognizing several superior performers along the way.


At GANGS, Lt. Col. Mike "Sledge" Lockette provided Maj. Gen. Sasseville with a detailed mission brief and then they met with over 30 Airmen, touring the legacy Mobile Ground System (MGS) equipment and the new SBIRS vehicles and antennas.  He stayed for lunch and talked one-on-one with several of the Airmen about the challenges associated with being a member of the Air National Guard. 


At the end of the visit, he coined SrA Malcom Robinson-Gonzalez, SrA Grant Caine, Amn Abby Blaylock, SrA Roger Belleau, and one of the Physician Assistants, Capt Chris Shults for their outstanding performance in support of the 233 SG mission.


At the 140th Wing, TSgt Jessica MacDonald and SSgt Christina Gomez both received coins for outstanding performance. TSgt MacDonald has been single-handedly running the high profile Wing CSS for almost a year and has done a fantastic job handling an incredible work load. SSgt Gomez has been providing superior customer service in finance and was a finalist in the Armed Forces Recognition Luncheon this year.


Then SSgt Joshua Flick showcased the Command Post and was coined for his work creating a stellar training program and the Command Post's electronic Alert Status Board, which has earned many accolades. 


Maintenance had a formation at Hanger 801 where A1C Christopher Von Haasl was coined for his outstanding work in maintenance.  He was also this year's overall Air Guard winner at the Armed Forces Recognition Luncheon.


At Security Forces Maj. Gen. Sasseville recognized our RCP deployers and coined TSgt Brandon Hood, who was the overall winner at this year's Best Warrior Competition.  It was the first year they allowed Air Guardsmen to compete and the whole team did remarkably well, including taking home the first-place trophy!


Members of the 140th EOD Flight put Maj Gen Sasseville in the bomb suit, and then he coined SMSgt Dick Gibbons, the Senior NCO of the Year for the COANG. 


Both Gen. Goldfein and Maj Gen Sasseville were gracious visitors and expressed positive feedback about the wing and outstanding Airmen.